Rahmana liba ba’yey,
Ve’liba ba’yey Rahmana.

“The Compassionate One desires the heart,
And the heart desires the Compassionate One.”


The Inayati-Maimuni Order is committed to a path of spiritual development based upon both Sufi and Hasidic principles and practices. In this order, the Sufi lineage of Hazrat Inayat Khan (1882-1927), the first Sufi master to bring Sufism into the West, has been joined to the Hasidic lineage of Rabbi Israel ben Eliezer, the Ba'al Shem Tov (1698-1760), founder of the influential 18th-century Hasidic movement. But because it is not the first time that these two mystical paths associated with Islam and Judaism have been brought together, we endeavor to connect to and renew the spirit of the original Egyptian Sufi-Hasidism practiced by Rabbi Avraham Maimuni of Fustat (1186-1237), our forerunner, who successfully combined these paths as far back as the 13th-century. For this reason, we are called the Inayati-Maimuni tariqa, honoring both Hazrat Inayat Khan's vision of Sufism as a universal approach to spirituality and Avraham Maimuni's radical innovation which made a peaceful marriage between Jewish Hasidism and Islamic Sufism in a time of open conflict between the Abrahamic traditions. Founded in 2004 by Pir Zalman Suleyman Schachter-Shalomi, z”l, and his khalif, Pir Netanel Mu’in ad-Din Miles-Yépez, the community is currently led by the latter and based in Colorado.



WHEREAS the sacred traditions of the faiths of Beni Israel—Judaism, Christianity, and Islam—derive from the prophecy of Abraham, who "was the first to bring the knowledge of mysticism from Egypt, where he was initiated in the most ancient order of esotericism";

AND WHEREAS the early Sufis of Islam were deeply studied in Judaica (Isra'iliyyat);

AND WHEREAS Rabbi Abraham Maimonides observed, "the ways of the ancient saints of Israel ... have now become the practice of the Sufis of Islam," and developed a school of Hasidic Sufism in thirteenth-century Cairo;

AND WHEREAS Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid Inayat Khan founded, in London in 1914, the Sufi Order in the West, a new order of universalist Sufism rooted in the transmission of four unbroken lineages: Chishtiyya, Suhrawardiyya, Qadiriyya, and Naqshbandiyya;

AND WHEREAS Hazrat Inayat Khan appointed Pir Vilayat Inayat-Khan as his Sajjada-nishin, and Pir Vilayat has in turn appointed this faqir as his own Sajjada-nishin;

AND WHEREAS in California in 1975 and New York City in 1976, invoking the names of Melchizedek and Abraham, Pir Vilayat and Reb Zalman Schachter-Shalomi performed mutual initiations, bestowing the titles of Shaikh and Kohen l'El Eliyon respectively;

AND WHEREAS as a duly authorized Sufi Shaikh and Hasidic Rebbe, Reb Zalman has masterfully integrated the authentic traditions of the Sufis and the Hasidim, in the manner of a "merging of two oceans";

NOW, THEREFORE it is with jubilation of heart that I hereby recognize the establishment of the Maimuniyya, as a new order of Hasidic Sufism, reviving the tradition of the Egyptian Hasidic school and bearing the initiatory trans mission of the Sufi Order in the West, whereby it is vested with the baraka of Hazrat Inayat Khan and the fourfold chain of Pir-o-murshidan preceding him.

IT IS MY PRAYER that the Maimuniyya will bring healing to the tragically divided family of Abraham and guide many sincere seekers on the path that leads to the fulfillment of life's purpose. May the Message of God reach far and wide!

IN WITNESS THEREOF I have signed this deed at The Abode of the Message on the 6th of May, 2004.


Pir-o-Negidim of the Inayati-Maimuni Order

Pir-o-Nagid Netanel Mu'in ad-Din al-Maimuni

Hazrat Pir-o-Nagid Zalman Suleyman al-Maimuni

Maimuni Silsila

5. HaRav HaNagid David ben Yehoshua Maimuni II

4. HaRav HaNagid Yehoshua ben Avraham Maimuni

3. HaRav HaNagid Avraham ben David Maimuni II

2. HaRav HaNagid David ben Avraham Maimuni

1. HaRav HaNagid Avraham ben Moshe Maimuni

. . . .

Chishti-Nizami-Kalimi-Inayati Silsila

38. Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid Vilayat Inayat-Khan

37. Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid Sufi 'Inayat Khan

36. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Muhammad Abu Hashim Madani

35. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Muhammad Hasan Jili Kalimi

34. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Nasir ad-Din Mahmud, Kali-Shah

33. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Ghulam Qutb ad-Din

32. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Mawlana Fakhr ad-Din

31. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Nizam ad-Din Awrangabadi

30. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Shah Kalim Allah Jahanabadi

29. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Yahya Madani

28. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Muhammad A’zam

27. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Hasan Muhammad

26. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Jamal ad-Din Jamman

25. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Mahmud Rajan

24. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Ilm ad-Din

23. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Siraj ad-Din

22. Hazrat Sheikh al-Masheikh Kamal ad-Din ‘Allama

21. Hazrat Khwaja Nasir ad-Din Mahmud, Chiragh Dihlavi

20. Hazrat Khwaja Nizam ad-Din Mahbub-i Ilahi, Badauni



19. Hazrat Khwaja Farid ad-Din Mas’ud, Ganj-i Shakar, Ajhodani

18. Hazrat Khwaja Qutb ad-Din Mas’ud, Bakhtiyar Kaki

17. Hazrat Khwaja Mu‘in ad-Din Hasan, Gharib Nawaz, Sanjari-Ajmiri

16. Hazrat Khwaja ‘Usman Harvani

15. Hazrat Khwaja Hajji Sharif Zindani

14. Hazrat Khwaja Qutb ad-Din Mawdud Chishti

13. Hazrat Khwaja Nasir ad-Din Abu Yusuf Chishti

12. Hazrat Khwaja Abu Muhammad Chishti

11. Hazrat Khwaja Abu Ahmad Abdal Chishti

10. Hazrat Khwaja Abu Ishaq Shami Chishti

9. Hazrat Khwaja Mumshad ‘Ulu Dinwari

8. Hazrat Khwaja Hubayra Basri

7. Hazrat Khwaja Huzayfa Mar’ishi

6. Hazrat Khwaja Ibrahim ibn Adham Balkhi

5. Hazrat Khwaja Fuzayl bin ‘Ayaz

4. Hazrat Khwaja ‘Abd al-Wahid bin Zayd

3. Hazrat Khwaja Hasan Basri

2. Hazrat ‘Ali, Wali Allah

1. Hazrat Muhammad, Rasul Allah

Hazrat Jibril




Inayati-Ruhaniat Silsila

40. Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid Moineddin Jablonski

39. Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid Sufi Ahmad Murad Lewis

38. Hazrat Pirain-o-Murshida Rabia Martin

37. Hazrat Pir-o-Murshid Sufi 'Inayat Khan

. . .

Habad Yihus

9. Admur HaRav Menachem Mendel Schneerson Mi'Lubavitch, Rebbe RaMaSh

8. Admur HaRav Yosef Yitzhak Schneerson Mi'Lubavitch, Rebbe RaYYaTz

7. Admur HaRav Shalom Dov Baer Schneerson Mi'Lubavitch, Rebbe RaShaB

6. Admur HaRav Shmuel Schneerson Mi'Lubavitch, Rebbe MaHaRaSh

5. Admur HaRav Menachem Mendel Schneerson Mi'Lubavitch, Tzemah Tzedek

4. Admur HaRav Dov Baer Shneuri Mi'Lubavitch, Mittler Rebbe

3. Admur HaRav Shneur Zalman of Liadi, Alter Rebbe

2. Admur HaRav Dov Baer, HaMaggid Mi'Mezritch

1. Admur HaRav Yisrael ben Eleazer, Ba’al Shem Tov

Ahiyah HaShiloni HaNavi

Photo by Jane Feldman 2017.

Photo by Jane Feldman 2017.

Pir Netanel Mu'in ad-Din Miles-Yépez is the current head of the Inayati-Maimuni lineage of Sufism. He studied History of Religions at Michigan State University and Contemplative Religion at the Naropa Institute before pursuing traditional studies in both Sufism and Hasidism with Zalman Schachter-Shalomi and various other teachers. He has been deeply involved in ecumenical dialogue and is considered a leading thinker in the InterSpiritual and New Monasticism movements. He is the translator of My Love Stands Behind a Wall: A Translation of the Song of Songs and Other Poems (2015), the co-author of the critically acclaimed commentary on Hasidic spirituality, A Heart Afire: Stories and Teachings of the Early Hasidic Masters (2009), the editor of various works on InterSpirituality, including Meditations for InterSpiritual Practice (2012), and the editor of a new series of the works of the Sufi master, Hazrat Inayat Khan, annotated and adapted into modern English. He teaches "Contemplative Islam" and "Sufism" in the Department of Religious Studies at Naropa University.